Fashion & Lifestyle

Renewal of the Charter for the Advisory Commission on Public Diplomacy

The Department of State has renewed the Charter for the U.S. Advisory Commission on Public Diplomacy. The bipartisan Commission appraises U.S. government activities intended to understand, inform, and influence foreign publics. It may conduct studies, inquiries, and meetings, as it deems necessary. It may assemble and disseminate information and issue reports and other publications, subject to the approval of the Chairperson, in consultation with the Executive Director. The Commission also may undertake foreign travel in pursuit of its studies and coordinate, sponsor, or oversee projects, studies, events, or other activities that are necessary to fulfill its functions.

The Commission consists of seven members appointed by the President, with the advice and consent of the Senate. The members of the Commission shall represent the public interest and shall be selected from a cross section of educational, communications, cultural, scientific, technical, public service, labor, business, and professional backgrounds. Not more than four members shall be from any one political party. The President designates a member to chair the Commission.

The current members of the Commission are: Mr. Sim Farar of California, Chairman; Mr. William Hybl of Colorado, Vice-Chairman; Ambassador Lyndon Olson of Texas; Ambassador Penne Korth-Peacock of Texas; Ms. Anne Terman Wedner of Illinois; and Ms. Georgette Mosbacher of New York. One seat on the Commission is currently vacant.

To request additional information about the U.S. Advisory Commission on Public Diplomacy, you may contact Executive Director Shawn Powers at

Source: U.S. State Department